Language Norsk - NorwegianLanguage English - EngelskLanguage Spansk
Home > Roster > Article
Sturla Eide

Sturla Eide

Fiddler Sturla Eide is one of the most prominent folk music performers in Norway today. With his outstanding musicality and his proficiency on the fiddle, he creates his own personal map of fiddle music. Based on traditional music from Trøndelag, Eide’s music is catchy and attention-grabbing. His powerful performance style is distinctive in its impressively energetic technique.

Eide has many years of experience as both a soloist and a member of the groups Flukt and sturla/andreas, and has toured and presented a number of concerts in Scandinavia and the USA at venues including the Førde Folk Music Festival, the Falun Folk Music Festival and the Nordic Roots Festival. He has represented Norway at several European Broadcasting Union Festivals, and has toured extensively with a school concert programme under the auspices of the Norwegian Concert Institute. For the past few years he has also taught at Folkworks Summer Schools in the UK.

In the autumn of 2007 he will be releasing his first solo recording, presenting a selection of original tunes of his own, inspired by his encounters with other musicians and by experiences he has had since he began his musical career in the 1980s.

“It seems almost strange that this is Sturla Eide’s solo debut. He’s been around for so many years, but always together with other musicians. (…) The first four or five of the tunes are a sizzling demonstration of technique and drive. In the middle it calms down somewhat, but the ending is an impressive combination of his own compositions and traditional fiddle tunes.”
Trønder-Avisa, Norway

Read more about Sturla Eide at

Sturla Eide: fiddle and Hardanger fiddle

Murru, NORCD 2007

Also contributes on
Drufiacc, with Flukt, 2L 2004
Glimmer, with sturla|andreas, 2L 2003
Spill, with Flukt, 2L 2002
Åsmund & Sturla, with Svenkerud & Eide, Grappa 1997
Nytt i gamle spor, with Strengfolket, 1993

Statens Kunstnerstipend 2006
ASCAP Award, 2001, 2002 and 2004